Mzkzmylyf.Diaryland.Com

Gettin' Grown....

2003-01-20 - 2:24 a.m.

This weekend was my birthday. And I mean it - this weekend was my birthday. I wanted a party that my family could attend so we did that on Saturday. I love my people so much. If I had nobody else, as long as I have my family, I would absolutely be alright. They love me and the feeling is mutual. Sunday was the actual day of my birth, which occured 22 years ago.

Damn, 22. I remember when I was a little girl, I could never see making it to an age that started with the number 2.

Back then, life did not seem as if it could stretch itself out for two more years.

At the party, we started comparing the heights of the mothers and their children. I was taller than my mother. (I'm short so imagine her.) I remember being real young, looking up at my one aunt. I always tried to conjure up a plan to climb her. I wanted to make it to the top of her head. She was a mountain to me. The tallest of all her sisters. When I stood next to her on Saturday, she was barely a half-inch taller than me. And my five-year-old cousin is one-fourth of my weight and one-fourth of my age. The growth process is just amazing to me. It's like a lifelong experiment to me. (D.Y. - that's for u. :) )

For me, it never feels as if I've aged another year on the day of my birth. That feeling usually comes a few months later when I experience something that I feel is appropriate for my age. (i.e. - 16, driving the car, 21 - actually showing my own ID at the club) I don't know what will make me feel 22. I'm not waiting on anything to make me feel 22. I'll feel it when I feel it.

"and whisper you know these things, tell me you know these things, show me you know these things about me..." Max.

Eyes are closing...Goodnight.

antes - despues

Today's Ramblings - All Those Yesterdays. - E-Mail.
What you NEED to know about me.
Diaryland.


Oh, how convenient:
For Real. - 2004-01-17
"But the truth...re...mains...I'm..." - 2004-01-05
"You let go, and I'll let go too." - 2004-01-03
Happeee Nu Yurr! - 2004-01-02
"It's gonna be alright." - 2003-12-31