Mzkzmylyf.Diaryland.Com

"Your best shot?!"

2003-12-20 - 9:50 p.m.

Trust me, Diary. Wonders NEVER cease.

LOL. Yes, I AM home on a Saturday night. And it feels good. It's a different kind of relaxing...

I would already be asleep after all the good food I had at my family's Cookie Bake-Off (resurrected from the one time we had it maybe 10 years ago - we gotta make sure this is a steady annual thang. It was off-the-chain fun.) but I'm sittin' up here watchin' "What's Love Got To Do With It" on TNT...

Even though I've seen domestic violence firsthand (even to the extent that it is in the movie), it's still so hard for me to understand how Tina stayed with Ike after all that. Especially the restaurant scene...

But I've been having the message about being a strong woman in relationships reinforced in various ways this weekend.

One of the main ways being Lauryn Hill's "The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill".

DAMN, that woman knew what she was talkin' about! LOL.

"When It Hurts So Bad"... I listened to it with new ears. Homegirl had me on the treadmill sangin' my butt off like I was on stage somewhere! Oooh, goodness.

She said, "And if you've ever been in love then you'll understand that what you want might make you cry, what you need might pass you by if you don't catch it. And what you need, ironically, will turn out what you want to be if you just let it..."

I mean really. Could she tell the truth anymore than she did?

And isn't it amazing how experiences can help you see or hear something completely different than the way you saw or heard the same thing before you had the experience?

It's amazing to me. 'Cause I sho'll didn't have a ding-damn clue how real those words were before I came to have real feelings for someone else. I was singing the words like I knew what was going on but I really didn't have a clue.

But whooo, when I heard them suckas the other day, I heard 'em loud and clear.

And I'm listenin' too. I'm listenin'.

Sidenote Diary: Damn, Ike drove TWO females to attempt suicide! That is CRAZY! IKE??!! Damn...

Welp Diary, I'm 'bout to go watch Jason's Lyric for the gazillionth time. I finally got the DVD since I now have my DVD player hooked up. LOL. (You know it's serious Diary 'cause I asked for the DVD for Christmas and couldn't even wait for Thursday. Not really. I forgot I asked for it and I saw it on sale so I had to pick it up... I had to! Shut up! LOL!)

"I used to love him. Now I don't. Now I don't. I used to love him. Now I don't. Now I don't." - Lauryn Hill & Mary J. Blige, "I Used To Love Him"

antes - despues

Today's Ramblings - All Those Yesterdays. - E-Mail.
What you NEED to know about me.
Diaryland.


Oh, how convenient:
For Real. - 2004-01-17
"But the truth...re...mains...I'm..." - 2004-01-05
"You let go, and I'll let go too." - 2004-01-03
Happeee Nu Yurr! - 2004-01-02
"It's gonna be alright." - 2003-12-31