Mzkzmylyf.Diaryland.Com

Thursday Turnarounds

2003-12-11 - 9:15 a.m.

"Soulstar, oh you are so far from where you started. Don't be afraid to let your light shine on the world. Soulstar..."

Okay, I FINALLY made it to Target to pick up that new Musiq and that new Kelis.

Alas, I have not had an opportunity to listen to them as yet. I actually put the Musiq on while I was on the 'mill last night but I can't have something playing that I can't sing along to when I'm working out. I have to know all the words first. I don't know all the words, I can't play it while I'm working out. Period.

I was even thinking that I want to take a short trip somewhere so I can listen to the whole cd from start to finish but I won't have the chance to do that for quite some time 'cause December is a busy little month. We'll see. I'ma fit in tracks here and there when I can.

But I really like when that Oleta Adams-soudin' singer Carolyn Riddick says "oh youuu aaaaare". Yep, I really do. LOL.

If my memory serves me correctly, there were like four Raphael Saadiq tracks on Kelis' album so those will be played first.

And is that Nas' tattoed arm inside the CD cover? Wow. Now that's some love. I always said I would never tattoo any man's name or likeness on my body. My momma, my kids? I'll do those with no hesitation (not the faces though. I can't sit there while they permanently imprint a face up on me - especially when faces change from day to day.). But I'll be damned if I put a man's name on my body. Just won't be happenin' with this female right here.

You know what Diary? I noticed that when I write in you here, I'm much more upbeat. I went back to the paper version of you the other day and I seemed to be inclined to write some melodramatic bullish that wasn't even really there at the time. I think it's because I went back and read over the depressing and negative ish I had written in you for all of those years and I felt like it was my responsibility to keep that going on paper. But that's not me now so it was more than difficult. Made me not even want to write in those books anymore.

I'm not discounting what's on those pages 'cause it's all true and it's all what I was feeling at those times. I'm not saying I won't have similar feelings ever again. I'm just saying that I don't wanna be writin' thangs I feel like I have to write just because when those aren't really the thangs I'm feeling at the time. So, me and you will never part (mak-ee-da-da) for now Diary.

I'm in the mood for some hot grits Diary. Sho'll am. Not the kind that are gonna attack me while I make 'em though (the scar has finally faded, btw). Some nice calm smooth grits... Hmmm...

I was watching Insult the Comic Dog on the 5 minutes that I caught of the Billboard Awards last night. He is relentless! No mercy! He don't even care if you sittin' right there in the audience, he gon' rip into you like it ain't nothin'! LOL. He was funny though.

What I didn't get was how they gave Chingy Best New R&B Male Artist. R&B? You mean to tell me nobody on the panel realized that technically at least ('cause he do be singin' a lil' bit on "Holidae Inn"), he shoulda been in the rap category? And he accepted that award? I guess he just happy to get something. Just didn't seem right to me.

And I need you to help me understand Diary, how I could sit up there and watch the whole Beyonce Access Granted for "Me, Myself and I" but not see the actual video at the end? I just turned off the tv and went about my business. Why, Diary? I don't understand. LOL.

But anyway, I'm rett ta go. But before I do, you know I gotta leave you with a little something. I even got a bonus for ya today:

"Baby let me try. I'll be sure to satisfy all your aching wants and needs. Let me kiss your smile, make it worth your while. Baby spend the night with me. Spend the night..." - Rahsaan Patterson, "Spend the Night"

BONUS: "Without a arm, I spit! Without a arm, I spit! Without a arm, I spit! My nigga hold it!" - Delray in Kanye West's "Through the Wire" video

antes - despues

Today's Ramblings - All Those Yesterdays. - E-Mail.
What you NEED to know about me.
Diaryland.


Oh, how convenient:
For Real. - 2004-01-17
"But the truth...re...mains...I'm..." - 2004-01-05
"You let go, and I'll let go too." - 2004-01-03
Happeee Nu Yurr! - 2004-01-02
"It's gonna be alright." - 2003-12-31