Mzkzmylyf.Diaryland.Com

Tuesday Tootsie Roll Ramblings

2003-11-18 - 9:09 a.m.

I'm calling this post "Tuesday Tootsie Roll Ramblings" because it's Tuesday and I'm still the color of a Tootsie Roll after having (literally) BAKED in the hot-ass sun at the Dolphins game on Sunday. I do love this color though. Makes my skin look clearer. And the game was fun. That was my first time going to a Miami Dolphins game EVER. My mother and I never could have thought of spending money on something like that before (we still didn't. My stepfather bought the tickets.). But I will be going again soon. Probably not this season though. Next season.

So let's get into the ramblings, shall we?

Diary, let me tell you something honey: Al Green is a man, okay?! I'm not saying that he is the best man there is, but he is a man nonetheless.

Where the hell did I come up with this observation, you wonder?

Well, last night, I happened to be making some chicken gravy and grits. I've made this dish many times in the past few months, at least once a week. I just love it. So, I'm making my gravy. Sauteeing the onions and the chicken. I got popped with some oil a few times. No biggie, I'm used to it.

I head on over to the little pot I use to make my grits. I lift the lid as I have many times. I take the spoon in my right hand and reach to stir the slowly boiling grits. Well, well, well...

Out comes a 2 centimeter cluster of hot grits!

"GOOD LORD JESUS! OH LORD! HELP ME LORD!"

Those were the words that flew from my mouth upon contact of them hot grits on my right ring finger. *just the memory of it makes my leg jump*

The fact that Al Green had a whole pot of hot grits thrown on him and lived to tell it?! That makes him a man to me! I could NOT have lived through something like that. THAT is the pain that would make me have to "lay down and diiieeee".

Mind you, I can tolerate some pain. I have a high threshold for pain. I have lived through all of my wisdom teeth coming through, minor surgery with no anesthesia (I'm talkin' scalpel and all), having infected stitches removed, pulling pans out the oven with my bare hands, mistakingly burning myself with the iron... The only major pain I haven't been through is childbirth. Other than that, I've experienced some physical pain. I've even had grits come out at me before. I guess I just always managed to avoid 'em landing on my skin.

But them damn grits yesterday (which turned out pretty good, btw)?! That felt like some acid had been poured on my damn finger and left to take off my skin down to the bone. I even woke up in pain hours later. This morning, I even have a mark to remind me of where the grits landed!

So, because of this experience, I will always consider Al Green to be a MAN - no matter how high his voice is or how much he begs in his songs.

And I really like Linkin Park's "Numb". Says a lot. It really does.

And I really wanted to get on that treadmill last night but after I laid down in that bed 'round 7:15pm, it was all over. So now, I have to put away $5. I think this little system is gonna keep me in check... We'll see.

And why my people got to be so ghetto? I pass by a McDonald's and the marquee catches my eye: "We open Thanksgiving". Just like that. "We open Thanksgiving." Not, "We'RE open on Thanksgiving". Not, "We will be open on Thanksgiving Day". It ain't like they ain't got all the letters 'cause I done seen some whole conversations up on that same marquee. They had the letters, they just wanted to be ghetto wit' it. Why my people? Why?!

And it's so funny how Joan can be so many different people at one time. In some ways, she's me. In other ways, she's my girl, Model's Weave...wait a minute! She's me all the way! LOL.

I didn't even get to see last night's episode being that I was knocked the hell out. But from what I was told by Model's Weave (who woke me up to give me a synopsis), I probably would have found myself in that same situation. About to jump on the "Good Enough" train just to get to where I wanted to go in that relationship. But right on time, I would have realized that I needed to wait for the next train, the one that would drop me off right at the hotel, instead of getting on the one that would just take me to the city the hotel was in.

I remember Christmas 1995... LOL. Maybe I'll wait with this one Diary. Don't wanna jump too far ahead being that Thanksgiving hasn't even come and gone yet. LOL.

Well, I don't have anything else to ramble about right now. No feelings to get out right now. No thoughts weighing me down right now... That's a good thing.

"Just when I think that I forgot you, I hear that dub that we used to rock to. And just when I think I'm gettin' on without you, somebody pass and asks me about you..." - Bilal ft. Mos Def, "Reminisce"

antes - despues

Today's Ramblings - All Those Yesterdays. - E-Mail.
What you NEED to know about me.
Diaryland.


Oh, how convenient:
For Real. - 2004-01-17
"But the truth...re...mains...I'm..." - 2004-01-05
"You let go, and I'll let go too." - 2004-01-03
Happeee Nu Yurr! - 2004-01-02
"It's gonna be alright." - 2003-12-31