Mzkzmylyf.Diaryland.Com

The Window.

2003-11-14 - 1:25 p.m.

As I was starting to take my shower this morning, my mother came into the bathroom and said, "J, somebody broke the windows on your car." I said, "Stop playin'." She said, "I ain't playin. I think all the windows." I said, "Are you serious ma?" She said, "Yeah I'm serious."

Two funny things about it:

1) The conversation was in such calm tones. Wasn't no shoutin', no hystrionics (that is a word even though I might have spelled it wrong, tyvm Diary), no utter shock and grief. It was just as if she was telling me the weather was a little chillier today than normal (which it is).

2) That I was seriously considering finishing my bath. I mean, if the windows was broke, they wasn't gon' fix theyselves by the time I finished my damn bath. But I did end my bath to go check on the car.

I got out the shower saying, "Thank you Lord" just 'cause I realized that I could have been attacked if I had come home and the person was lurking in the shadows. The car could have been completely gone but it wasn't. Anything could have happened, you know? So I just thanked and praised the Lord as I dried off and put on some clothes to go see the damage.

I opened the front door to my house and looked out at my car. I could see that the windows on the passenger side were still in tact but it looked as if all the windows on the drivers side were gone. I walked up to the car and didn't see the type of vandalism I expected. Everything was basically in tact. The drivers seat was laid all the way back. The few cds I had in there were on the floor in front of the drivers seat.

In the back of my mind, I was thinking, "I wonder how much it would cost to fix three windows." I was wasting my time because upon further inspection, it became evident that the vandal had only busted out the little vent window and simply rolled down the other two. What a blessing. For real.

There are so many things that could have been worse but I always make sure to not leave anything in the car that I would regret having stolen. I used to ride around with damn-near 50 cds up in the car. I had recently taken them out when I went to get my car washed. If those had been stolen, I might have had to have a fit. Like, seriously. But they weren't. Like, I don't think you understand, Diary. I would have ran up and down the street hollerin' boongy-butt-nekkid and all if those cds had been taken but they surely weren't 'cause they weren't in there and I'll make sure not to have them in there like that again.

The thing about this is, you leave your car knowing that anything can happen to it while you're away. So for me to come to it in the morning and see it vandalized, not that I hoped it would happen but I just know there is always a good chance that something like that can happen. So I ain't stress it. Nor am I stressin' it now.

I got my window fixed in ten minutes. Everything is back to normal and on with my life, I am moving.

I just thank God that he gives me so much strength and helps me to value my life so much that when something like this happens, before I think of anything else, I realize that I am still breathing and no harm has come to me and my first instinct is not to go into a pity party but to say, "Thank You Lord". And that he has me in a position where, if something like this happens, I know that I will be able to have it taken care of.

I thank him that he has me living with people that look at life realistically and can bring humor to any situation. I thank him that he has placed it in my heart to pray for a blessing for the person that broke into my car (You never know why people do the things they do. The $4 they stole (the only thing stolen, period.) included $3 I found last week and intended to give to a homeless person who asked for money.). I thank him that he lets me look back on myself in a way that I'm trying to see the message or the lesson in whatever happens to me.

I just thank God today. For real.

And I honestly don't think there was complete malice and disregard in the heart of the individual that committed the crime. They locked the doors when all was said and done. Yeah, they left the windows down. But man, they locked the damn doors. That said something to me. That said, "I didn't really want to do this but something made me do it." And that makes it easier for me to forgive whoever did it.

Well, it's the weekend. I'm going to a charity thingy tonight. Gotta get my practice in for when I get to the point where I can actually donate large amounts to charity. I want to know how it all works so, when the time comes, I'm all ready to give. LOL.

This weekend is gonna be pretty busy. Like, for real busy. (You like my "Like, for real"s Diary?! I know you do!) I'm gonna do my best to get in all the rest I can when I can though. Hoepfully, I'll get somewhere to get my hair loc'd up this weekend. I really can't wait this time. I'm ready to do it. Period.

I don't know who's gonna sing us out today...I can't really think of a song that describes what I went through this morning. I'll just let you hear the words of the first song that popped into my head concerning the car situation this morning:

I never knew I could be so happy. I never knew I'd feel so secure. Because of your love, life has brand new meaning. It's gonna be a brighter day, brighter day." [I'm smilin' Diary!] Kirk Franklin, "Brighter Day"

antes - despues

Today's Ramblings - All Those Yesterdays. - E-Mail.
What you NEED to know about me.
Diaryland.


Oh, how convenient:
For Real. - 2004-01-17
"But the truth...re...mains...I'm..." - 2004-01-05
"You let go, and I'll let go too." - 2004-01-03
Happeee Nu Yurr! - 2004-01-02
"It's gonna be alright." - 2003-12-31