Mzkzmylyf.Diaryland.Com

"All I ever needed was a subject..."

2003-11-07 - 8:51 a.m.

11-7-03

First of all Diary, let me say how excited I am that Anthony Hamilton is indeed coming to Miami on Saturday. It was confirmed by his road manager (oh, the innanet!) and an advertisement I picked up yesterday. And I am SO HURT that I did not buy his CD yet! It ain't like I ain't want to. It just KILLS me to spend money on CDs.

Thanks to Jon who's letting me borrow it (after 'bout a month of promising me I was gon' get it to make a copy from - I am so cheap. I know.). But for real, I'ma get out and get the CD for myself. I'm feelin' it that much and I only heard three tracks on my unusually short commute to work this morning. But those three have me hooked on him - in addition to "Coming From Where I'm From". I can just relate to him, yanno? It's like, when I want to reminisce, I'm throwing on some Anthony.

Dwele is about to be put into Da ECHO's retirement section. Honestly, I think the only reason I was even playing the CD so much was because 1) it was free and 2) I was using it as a way of reminding me of the night of his concert. That whole night was just too off the chain, Diary! For real! Hangin' out with him was just the tippy-tip of the iceberg of that whole entire night/morning.

I mean, he's cool and all but I just don't feel his music like that, yanno? Not on some "I can totally relate" type-ish. Maybe when I gets in lub and all that crap (yuck!). But for now, while I'm ridin' solo for dolo?! Me and Ant gon' be cool. I'll still throw that Dwele in errr once in a while to hear my "Subject" and "Without You" ("palm trees, green leaves..."). Other than that though, it's gon' be Anthony telling me how it's been since the first time he seent me on my ways to and from wherever the hell I'm going.

And since I'm on the somewhat structured topic of artists, let me talk about ya boy Mike Phillips...

Actually, I would first like to mention that I love being a citizen of the city of Miami. This is the only place I know of (there probably are others but hey, I ain't never been there) where one day, it can be completely gray skies and the next day, the sun is shining, the sky is blue and urrthang is so luvly...

But yeah, Mike Phillips. See, what had happened is (I know) that we have basic cable. We used to have the hot box and the satellite hookup but you know how those things go... I ain't neva get a chance to tune into BET Jazz. Wow, what I've been missing! LOL.

I recently started really sitting down and taking my time to listen to some jazz, yanno? But it's still kinda new to me so I'm taking my time in getting to know it. But anyway.

Last night, me and Miss Pooh went out to the poetry spot. I must say that I was impressed. They showed pictures of the new place but it was still breathtaking when we got there. It is kinda far but it ain't all up in the throes of South Beach and the parking wasn't THAT bad (although I do hate scrounging up change for meters).

As I put the car in park and turned it off, I realized that I did not have my license, my student ID, I ain't have nothin' but some money and my ATM card. I was so heartbroken! I am so ANAL about making sure I have EVERYTHING I will need! All the time I'm like that. When I don't have something, I might as well take my clothes off and walk around naked 'cause that's how the hell I feel. So I was all heartbroken, sad, sunken in, all that! Diary, you shoulda seen my hand to my head honey! I was swimming in the self-pity. LOL.

But all that changed when I went up to the door and chit-chatted with the doorman (Everybody is a damn flirt these days. I'm thinking to myself, "I know you got all them kids at home so why you frontin'?!"). Got in and for only half-price. I only paid $5 when I was thinking I'ma have to shell out at least $15. I was all happy 'bout that. (I'm tellin' u it don't take much.) That completely turned my mood around.

So, we went upstairs to the Poetry Lounge and ended up some special guests on a nice bed that's set up inside the place. I mean a NICE bed. Okay?!

At one point, I had to ask myself, "Self, is it the poet (Stacey-Ann Chin - homegirl did her damn thang)? Is it this white man you just met cuddled all up next to you? Is it this bed? Is it the lighting? Is it the decor? I mean really Self! What the hell is it that is making this Screaming Orgasm damn-near live up to its name?!" LOL! I was all caught up in the whole situation. I mean, I had a GREAT time in the Poetry Lounge. *there's that sheepish grin again...*

So we head down to the Groove Lounge to listen to some live music. We'd heard the special guest performer's name was Mike Phillips. Being that me and Miss Pooh have had limited exposure to Jazz, we ain't know what we were in for. I didn't expect anything but to hear some live music and I'm glad I was like that. I went into his performance with an open mind.

And let me tell you Diary, I was ENTERTAINED. I was touched, I was caressed, I was kissed, I was all that when Mike Phillips was performing. Okay?! I mean, what he did with that sax? That was for the grown and sexy. I almost had to get up and leave 'cause I just wasn't even nowhere near ready for none of what he came with. But I didn't dare leave all those sexy notes behind! I sat right in that chair and jammed the hell away for the whole set.

And, as usual, Miss Pooh and I secured THE BEST seats in the house (It's all her, I tell you. She inspires me to get good seats! You know I had front row seats at the Dwele concert right?! And she wasn't even there! But I had to do it for her. Had to.). The main reason I mention the seating though, is because there was this nasty heffa with a nasty attitude actin' like she paid for the damn seats she was saving for the thirteen hundred other people she was "expecting" in her group. Her attitude backfired on her butt when she got kicked out of the prime seating she was acting so nasty to save. And that's what she gets! You don't treat people any kind of way and expect to thrive offa that. You just don't. Nasty heffa.

But I'm proud of myself because instead of showin' her the hindparts her lips shoulda kissed, I just said "okay" and went about my damn business. That's how I ended up with the bomb-ass seats. And she lookin' at me and Miss Pooh all crazy when she passed by later and saw us chillin' up in the front. You reap what you sow, ol' nasty heffa!

Breathe and stop. She's outta my mind. LOL.

Moving on! I mean, I just had THE BEST TIME all for $5. Stuff like that really makes my day, yanno? When things work out like that, I just feel like, "wow". That's the only thing I can think of to describe it. When I'm in the right company and the right things happen, that's all I need. Times like those just swim around in my mind and break the surface when I need something to brighten up my damn day.

And Diary, I'm so glad about this new relationship we have. For real. All the things that were going on last night, I had you in the back of my mind. I was sayin' to myself, "Self, you gotta make sure you remember all this stuff so you can tell Diary when you get to work in the morning." I would give you the play-by-play 'cause I left a lot of thangs out but that would take waaay too much time and my fingers are really cold right now and my supervisor just walked in so now I have to look busy (you know how I do). But I gave you the big parts so you'll be alright.

I'm just anxious to see how my weekend goes now. I'ma try to calm myself down and just go with the flow, which shouldn't be too hard. I plan on just enjoying the company of my friends and family and no matter what, just having fun. I believe that you have to make this life fun and good, yanno? Shoot, it sure as hell works for me.

I just wish I could convince some people to try. But I can sit and try till I'm purple in the face and they won't believe me until they step out on their own and really give it a try so... I just gotta live my life "to the full" [(c) Joel Osteen] while I can. That's all I can do.

Since it's official that Dwele is about to be put into Da ECHO's retirement, I'll let him sing us out today:

"This is how I feel when I'm around you: Skies could fall without you, Heaven's lost without you, and it's gon' be alright." Dwele - "Without You"

antes - despues

Today's Ramblings - All Those Yesterdays. - E-Mail.
What you NEED to know about me.
Diaryland.


Oh, how convenient:
For Real. - 2004-01-17
"But the truth...re...mains...I'm..." - 2004-01-05
"You let go, and I'll let go too." - 2004-01-03
Happeee Nu Yurr! - 2004-01-02
"It's gonna be alright." - 2003-12-31