Mzkzmylyf.Diaryland.Com

Make Believe...

2003-08-04 - 2:16 p.m.

50 Cent is a gangsta. Why is he a gangsta?

Because he was shot.

Tupac was a gangsta. Why?

Because he got shot.

The common denominator? The two of these men were shot.

I agree that surviving a shooting can only be done by a physically strong individual. However, I do not agree that being shot places you in the gangsta category.

Especially when you were shot at or around the studio you were recording in, not because you were participating in some kind of "gangsta" activity.

Other than that, Saturday night was cool even though we didn't dance, which is one of the main reasons we went out.

And you never know who is looking at you. An individual who my friends and I have never seen before pointed us out among hundreds of people and told someone we know of, "there goes your friends".

And yes, I'm sick again. This damn thyroid. But I refuse to have it removed. I never know when I'ma need this thang. :P

And Queer Eye for the Straight Guy is my new show. Carson is just so cute.

You know, I really believe that anybody can sing as long as they are shown how to catch a note. No? Yeah, maybe everybody can't sing...

EDIT:

1. What time do you wake up on weekday mornings?

I'm up at 6:00am. I have to be to work by 7:30am and I need to give myself 30 solid minutes to get there.

2. Do you sleep in on the weekends? How late?

I wish I could. However, a combination of my internal clock and family members who never sleep, I'm usually up by 8:00am on the weekends. Yes, that's even if I didn't go to sleep until 5:00am.

3. Aside from waking up, what is the first thing you do in the morning?

Lie in the bed appreciating the silence and collecting my thoughts. Pray. Turn on the TV because by then, I need the sound.

4. How long does it take to get ready for your day?

It takes me about thirty minutes. Usually, 5 minutes on the toilet (I just like to sit there and adjust to being upright). 3 minutes brushing my teeth. 2 minutes washing my face. 7 minutes in the shower. 5 minutes greasing/baby-oiling up. 4 minutes dressing. The other 4 minutes are spent walking around the house, subconsciously making sure nobody has decided to move in or move us out while we slept.

5. When possible, what is your favorite place to go for breakfast?

Honestly, Esther's. It's cheap (my favorite: Corn Beef Hash, Grits, Eggs, Hashbrown, Biscuit = $3.65) and enough to feed two people. So, I can either gorge myself by finishing the whole thing in one sitting or put the rest away for the next morning. My second favorite place is Jimmy's Restaurant because the food is so hot and it comes so quickly.

Know something? I really have no political views. I really don't. I go around, I read people's daily thoughts, I understand what they're saying sometimes. But mostly, I just don't feel the urge to think about politics.

Why? Maybe because I'm too self-absorbed. Actually, it's because I internalize so many things. I have a lot of thoughts and feelings that I'm trying to understand about myself. Thoughts and feelings that are sometimes distressing to me. Maybe I just don't have space in my mind to process political views and activities.

I spend a lot of time worrying about other people too. And not the people of Liberia, who can't walk the streets safely. My head is filled with thoughts of my family and my friends who are struggling in whatever way.

My best friend who graduated from high school with me but probably won't graduate from college for another year and a half.

A girl I've known for years who may be infertile. All she's ever wanted was to have children.

My cousin who has locked herself up in the back room of her mother's house. She never comes out. She's tried to commit suicide at least three times...

The children I go to see whose parents are on drugs or have chosen whatever in their life over their own child's life. Where will these kids be in 15 years?

I guess it's just too hard for me to focus on people and issues that don't affect me RIGHT this moment when I have other people and issues that are right in my face.

I don't much watch the news even though CNN is one of my favorite stations. How can that be? I read the ticker and tune out the commentary.

I read the paper everyday - the horoscope section.

It's just too hard for me to think about the world's problems when people around me are already dealing with so much.

I guess this is just to clarify that there will probably never be any commentary in my damn diary regarding issues that concern the rest of the world. My damn diary is my damn world. Period. No space for much else.

In regards to my cluttered bed (hair products, purses, bills, magazines, appointment book, clipboard, unread novel, pens, photos, checkbook, remotes)...

My mama reading oil sheen can:

(Shaking head) "Excellent shine... I don't understand how you do that. You must be trying to replace Vision (my killed cat)."

I thought about it...she might just be right.

antes - despues

Today's Ramblings - All Those Yesterdays. - E-Mail.
What you NEED to know about me.
Diaryland.


Oh, how convenient:
For Real. - 2004-01-17
"But the truth...re...mains...I'm..." - 2004-01-05
"You let go, and I'll let go too." - 2004-01-03
Happeee Nu Yurr! - 2004-01-02
"It's gonna be alright." - 2003-12-31