Mzkzmylyf.Diaryland.Com

Name It, Claim It

2003-06-30 - 1:17 p.m.

What I hate about me and naps is the fact that if I lay down for a nap, unless I'm dead tired, I'll spend half of the nap-time thinking about ish. It's only in the last few minutes that I'll get a really good sleep in. By that time, it's time for me to get up. I can't stand it! Why can't I just sleep the whole time? I understand that I may not necessarily be tired so that's probably why it's hard for me to fall asleep. But still! I want to sleep! So, come on brain! Just shut down and allow me all my nap minutes. Thank You.

I'm not too satisfied with Beyonce and this album. It's basically a bunch of rewrites of old songs. Nothing really creative and original...which is what she led me (yes, me)to believe I would find on her debut album.

I'ma have to put her right there with Ashanti. I may put her right above because she can actually dance and has a strong voice. Nevertheless, there's nothing that really separates her from Ashanti in my mind. She's not doing anything different or memorable. The two of them have blurred together into one person. All Ashanti needs to do now is hook up with...hmmm, let me see...50 Cent?

And let's not even get started on Monica Elliott. Oops! I meant Missy Arnold. My bad. I keep getting them confused. It's not hard after listening to the new Monica album. I guess it was that "special chemistry" between Tweet and Missy that made Tweet's album sound soul-ish and like it belonged to Tweet. I feel like Monica is just providing vocals on a Missy album with "After The Storm". And can we please not even mention the songwriting? Oh, I can't take it. Yuck. Monica needs to go on ahead and work with Rodney Jerkins. He made Brandy a real star. I'm sure he can do it for her too. #11 shows that.

I didn't get the humor in My Big Fat Greek Wedding (except granny trying to sneak out through the yard and getting caught by the sprinklers). 13 Conversations About One Thing... I completely missed what the thing was! I am so mad. And I'll be damned if I sit and go through it again to find the one thing. That's okay. I'll just look it up on the internet. (I realize that I didn't completely miss the one thing. I knew what it was. I just didn't know how to explain it to myself. Hmmm.

That was a good movie.)

Other than that, my weekend was restful. I got certain things done (mainly my car. Poor baby. It had been more than filthy for waaaay too long. That reminds me, I gotta find somewhere where I can shampoo my own carpet 'cause I damn sho ain't 'bout to pay $20 to let them do it at the carwash.) so I'm happy about that. I still got a few more things I have to do before I can really enjoy the rest of the summer.

And I must comment on how weird it is to walk into a place where I used to work, used to spend so much time and energy, and not even really remember my experiences there... I remember the overall situation. I guess it just amazes me because of where I am now. Back then, I couldn't imagine doing what I'm doing now or being who I am right now... I just received my framed diploma and my framed graduation picture. It wasn't until I saw them framed that I realized exactly what I've accomplished... Damn, it feels good.

And another thing. I had an uncle who would always say, "Name it, claim it." And the Clark Sisters had a song that I would listen to that said, "Name it, claim it. It's yours." I very recently went back to the first journal I ever started back when I was 12. In one of the first entries, I had claimed to myself that I would get a full scholarship to attend college. I always wondered why I had such a drive to get to college. There was never a question of whether or not I was going. I was going and that was it. And look at the way God worked my life. Oh, oh, oh. All I can do is say "Thank You".

antes - despues

Today's Ramblings - All Those Yesterdays. - E-Mail.
What you NEED to know about me.
Diaryland.


Oh, how convenient:
For Real. - 2004-01-17
"But the truth...re...mains...I'm..." - 2004-01-05
"You let go, and I'll let go too." - 2004-01-03
Happeee Nu Yurr! - 2004-01-02
"It's gonna be alright." - 2003-12-31